Random Things

I’m finding myself feeling the need to express myself on Facebook or Twitter, but I need more than 140 characters to say it…

Stats: So, I started my Applied Statistics I class last night. I actually was so worried about it I gave myself a migraine so I left work early to go home and take a 30 minute stress nap before class. You know what? It was not so bad. Now, I don’t want to get overconfident, but I felt good about class by the end of it. I felt like I may actually be able to do this. If I make it through this class, I will have crossed a big hurdle towards finishing the doctorate.

Dreams: I have been having some weird dreams. Sometimes they involve going to Starbucks. Sometimes they involve eating anything I want and a bunch of it, then I wake up in a panic thinking I actually ate all that food, but thankfully I didn’t. I had a dream I finally went to buy new running shoes. This is kind of a joke with me: The last time I bought new running shoes was December of 2009. I have had 2 children since then. It’s ridiculous and a good thing I’m not running much right now.

Training: Since I am incredibly busy this month my training has been altered. Basically, my calories are lower and my workouts are shorter. I’m doing better. I figured since I already have a huge goal to finish 6 hours of class successfully this month, while working and keeping the kids alive, I might as well add “Lose 5 pounds” to that goal.

Sleep: I’m thankful for the training my children gave me on how to function on very little sleep, because it looks like I won’t be doing much this month. Mondays: Work until 10:00 pm. When I get home it always takes a few minutes to get ready for bed and wind down, so I’m usually asleep at around 11:30. Then Tuesday I wake up at 5:30 and work and go to class until 9:30 ish. Then Wednesday I wake up at 5:30 and work and then parent. Thursday: Class until 9:30 ish. Friday: Drag my butt reluctantly out of bed sometime before 6:30. So, I may get a little sleep on the weekends. I just keep telling myself you can do anything for a month.

Remember the movie “The Pursuit of Happyness”? I feel like I need to watch it again. This guy had SO MANY obstacles. Everything was crazy. But he didn’t give up. And (spoiler alert) in the end he gets the job. He is victorious. It was all worth it.

That’s what I keep telling myself it will be like when I finish my degree. All the work will be worth it when they announce “Dr. Brown” at graduation.

And so on I go…

10377151_10102645148263710_3911613911626167272_n

Leave a Reply

