Let it Go. No, seriously.

I was a little late to the “Frozen” extravaganza. I didn’t see it in the theaters, but when it came out on Itunes, I got it for my kids. Since then, my daughter (3) has become completely obsessed with it.

The first time I watched it, I was unimpressed. I really didn’t see what all the fuss was about. But I had friends (my age friends) who loved it, so I figured there was something there.

My daughter threw a huge fit after seeing part of the movie at daycare and having to leave. I said, “Hey we have it at home, do you want to watch it?” Of course she did, so I turned it on, and she was so upset. “I want to watch Frozen!!!” “This *is* Frozen!”.. this went on until I realized she was calling the song “Let it Go” “Frozen”. So I let her watch the song over and over on Youtube.

Anyway, my point is that we hear this song a lot. There are even two versions: The Idina Menzel version from the movie, and the Demi Lovato version, which is a little more upbeat and has some alternate lyrics.

Most people I know are begging for it to stop, having had enough of the song to last a lifetime. I, however, really like it. The first time I watched the sequence from the movie, I was like, “Eh. Whatever”. But the more I watch it, the more exciting it is.

I mean, let’s talk about this. This is a girl who has been cooped up in her room for most of her life, told that she is “bad” or “wrong”, and told to hide a very important part of herself. But by the time she gets to the song, she has let this power loose, so there’s no need to hide anymore. She terrified most of the people in her town/village/whatever it is.

So of course she’s feeling a sense of relief. In the Demi Lovato version (yes I have both versions of the song), there are these alternate lyrics.

“Out here in the cold, thin air, I finally can breathe

I know I left a life behind, but I’m too relieved to grieve.”

Think about that. I don’t know why, but those words really get to me.The relief she feels right then.

During the course of the song, Elsa builds a spectacular castle made of ice AND has a costume change. The costume change is huge. She is a different person. She’s free.

Post costume chance/transformation

Post costume chance/transformation

It’s funny. I didn’t notice these things the first few times I saw this. My daughter, though, did. She sings “Let it go” and acts it out, and one night I noticed she changed clothes in the middle of the song. How cool is it that she noticed it and I didn’t?

I like this movie because Elsa is a Disney princess (or queen. Whatever) who finds happiness WITHOUT a man. All the Disney I watched growing up- Cinderella, Snow White, Sleeping Beauty- had a man as part of the heroine’s happy ending. My generation was taught that that was the only way to be truly happy, to be complete. It makes me think of this:

once-upon-a-time

 

The other thing about this song. I have the Demi Lovato version on my workout playlist right now. I was running the other day (remember how I’m doing that?) and it came on. I had kind of a spiritual experience. The lyrics got to me, and I felt free of the anxiety that I usually feel. And yes, I am admitting that in public.

So, for now, it doesn’t look like my daughter will be losing interest in Frozen anytime soon. Every day she asks for an Elsa doll (but not a “Yanna” doll, as she calls her. For some reason she doesn’t like her as much.). For the moment, I am ok with it. I think we can all stand to “Let it Go” a little.

 

(And yes, I may  be trying to figure out a way to use this idea of personal transformation in my dissertation about threshold concepts that I may or may not write…)

Leave a Reply

