My Baby Turned ONE yesterday!

Let me tell you a story:

In August of 2012, I made a move from Tennessee to Texas, with my family, to start a new job. I was so excited about this job. One reason was that I would get professional development support for the first time in 4 years. I had planned to become conference chick. My kids were a little older by then- about to be 5 and 2- and I felt ready to take on the world.

To reduce the stuff we had to move, we gave away every single baby item we had. If it had to do with a baby, we either gave it away or sold it. You see, we were done.

So, let’s fast forward to September 9. I got the surprise of my life: I was going to have a third baby!

I admit that initially I wasn’t very happy. This was not in the plan. But I soon became attached to the little person inside me. I nicknamed her “Lil Asskicker” after the baby on The Walking Dead. And then on May 1, 2013, after 3 weeks of contractions (!!!!!) she was born:

Image

I was completely in love. Now, this year has not been easy, but she has been the joy of my life. She is the happiest baby I’ve ever known and I can’t imagine life without her.

Image

Her middle name is my mom’s name. My mom has been gone for 9 years, but it was her birthday, September 9, that I found out Aubrey was on her way. I think that’s some sort of sign.

Image

Here she is going from grumpy to happy thanks to some chocolate cake at her birthday “party”:

Image

Aubrey, you are proof that life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans. You are a gift from God, and totally worth taking a year off from being a super duper career track librarian. You are the joy of my heart and I love you more every day!

Leave a Reply

